Elekctra-fied Productions

A Visual Novel Development Blog

Hello!

Hey, this is Elekctra!  Just wanted to let you all know that Perfect Chemistry is on schedule to be released tomorrow.  I’ve been working on it for a while and I’m really excited to share it with you.

Main Menu for Perfect Chemistry

Now, you’re probably wondering:  Um…so if this is a dev blog, where’s the dev part of the blog? A valid question.  So this is what happened.

When I started working on Perfect Chemistry, I wasn’t really serious.  It was just a practice game.  It was supposed be a 15-30 minute game, one guy, three endings.  I was going to use free sprites and backgrounds (because I can’t draw…at all…) and Creative Commons music.  And I figured it would take a couple months to make, maybe just one if I got really serious.

Then stuff happened and I decided to make it six endings instead.  I figured that was still okay because I was still on summer break, so I had plenty of time.

Then I went back to school…and started adding more branches and endings.  And then I decided to draw my own sprites.  Still not sure what I was thinking when I decided to do that.  (See above, where I tell you I can’t draw…I actually have a story about this, but I’ll save that for another post.)

Sometime during this process, I was like: “Wow, this is getting semi-serious.  Maybe I should have a dev-blog.”  But I didn’t really want to start one because I wasn’t really sure how much time I would have to put into this game and if I would even finish.

Well, now I’ve finished.  So here’s my dev-blog.

But you haven’t answered my question.  Where’s the dev?!

Okay, okay I’m getting there.  Tomorrow I’ll write up a post on the dev and the timeline for Perfect Chemistry when I get back from work.  After that you’ll see my progress for future games here.  Let’s say two or three times a week.

Future games?

Yep.  I’m starting another project.  More details to come.

Two or three times a week?  Really?

Um, yeah.  I’ll probably change that in a couple months.  But for now, I’m out of school for the summer, so let’s go with that.

~♥~ Elekctra

Leave a Reply

