Elekctra-fied Productions

A Visual Novel Development Blog

Challenge Accepted

Hi everybody!

Two big announcements for today.

Pirate Otome Project (I really need to get a working title for this…)

I’ve really pushed the UI development along.  See side bar for current progress. 🙂  I’m going to hold off on the screenshots for now, because a music room with no tracks is really silly.  Preferences screen is done too.

At this point, the script is about the same length as Perfect Chemistry was–the word count is close to 16K.

Challenge Project (Also still nameless)

Has anyone here ever participated NaNoRenO?  It’s sort of like NaNoWriMo (National Write a Novel Month).  Okay, acronyms aside, the Ren’Py community has the challenge of creating a Ren’Py visual novel from scratch.  This takes place during the month of March–a bad month for me as far as school work is concerned.  (I’m pretty sure I had five or six major exams (college midterms) last March… :()  But I’ve seen other people make all sorts of really awesome projects as part of this–so it’s totally do-able.

On Friday, one of my friends challenged me to do a project “NaNoRenO-style”.  I totally wasn’t going to do it…but since I’m not going to be able to participate in the REAL NaNoRenO this year, I figured now might be a good time to try something like this.  So, Challenge Accepted.

My goal for the end of the month is to either finish a game or be close enough to completion that I can tell you how many weeks I need to wrap it up.  If I can’t give you an accurate estimate (in weeks) of how long I will need to finish, or if I know I will need a lot more time (months), then I will put the challenge aside and go back to work on the Pirate VN.  (Unfortunately, this means that all work on the Pirate Otome Project will be deferred during this time.)  And at the worst, I’m wasting a month, but hopefully this means a new VN’s for you sooner.

Wish me luck!

~♥~ Elekctra

Leave a Reply

