Elekctra-fied Productions

A Visual Novel Development Blog

The Development of ‘Sweet Tea Casting Call’

Hey all!  I promised you a dev story, so here it is.screenshot0017

It’s been 4 years since I published Perfect Chemistry.  Since then I’ve graduate from school, changed jobs twice, and gone through so many life-things that the world is a completely different place.  Meantime, I’ve been chipping away at various otome visual novels, but I didn’t seem any closer to finishing.  After starting Contrary over…for the fourth time, I needed to shake things up and get my motivation back.

It was October of 2015.  (No, that’s not a typo.)  I wanted to put my sprawling fantasies aside and try to wrap my hands around something manageable.  So I went back to the drawing board and dreamed up the initial plot line for Sweet Tea Casting Call.  Of course, I got it in my head to make it a Thanksgiving themed game…partly because I needed a deadline and partly because nobody really does Thanksgiving themed movies or games.

I wrote the thing up, coded up the UI and tested it.  All I had left was the three bonus epilogue scenes to write up.  But I didn’t.  I decided to shelve the project for a year for reasons unknown.

But a couple of weeks ago, I decided to bring it back.  I played through it, and it’s no masterpiece, but it made me laugh.  So I decided it was time to dust this one off and share it with the world.  After more than a year, Just Jen in Sweet Tea Casting Call makes its debut.

Now, what makes this really ironic is this post here:  https://elekctrafied.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/the-development-of-perfect-chemistry/

Apparently for as different as the world is…not much has changed.

I’m not going to try to guess what’s in store for Elekctrafied Productions.  Because I’ll be wrong.  But what I can say is that, for better or for worse, writing and visual novels are one thing that I keep coming back to over and over again.

~♥~ Elekctra

Leave a Reply

